A plank a day …

… is going to kill me!

Day 3 of Juneathon and I’m back at work.  In an ideal world I’d get up at 5am, have a hi-energy breakfast, do a run/walk/jog whatever, shower, get ready for work and be energised for the day. In reality, the alarm wakes me up at 6am and I need to shower, get ready, iron my clothes, feed the cats, make my breakfast blah blah blah, you know the rest.  But I did power walk to BHS and back and on arriving home I decided to attempt a PLANK. The art of balancing on one’s fingers and toes while attempting to lift stomach and arse off the ground and hold.

So I browsed the Interwebs for some advice and found a lovely hunk of an Adonis who explained things really well on YouTube. So for my effort tonight, much to the amusement of two cats, I lowered my aching body gently to the floor while uttering sounds of ungghhhh in the way that old people do so well, and prostrated myself on the carpet.  I assumed the position of forearms bent to the floor, flexed my toes, pulled in my stomach and glutes and LIFT. AAAGGGGHHHHH bloody hell, it looked so simple!!!!! 2 seconds before collapsing in an undignified heap.

This can’t be right, I must be doing it wrong ….. 2nd attempt lasted 5 seconds and after a swift half and a jam doughnut* I attempted a third.  7 seconds.  NO MORE!

After that torture, abdominal crunches were a breeze.  50 done!

So that was Day 3 of Juneathon.  A bit of core work, a new exercise to perfect and the perfect excuse to give my poor aching legs a rest.

*kidding about the half and doughnut.

Cat photo

Emmy
3 thoughts on “A plank a day …

  1. I’m going to have to try a plank now! You should be proud anyway, you’ve clearly shown progress across the three attempts 🙂

    My #juneathon today hurt – just a regular run but it was too hot and I had stomach cramps which seemed to get worse throughout (just bad timing I think, not exercise induced).

Leave a Reply

