2012: The Year of the Book … Day 7 #blog12daysxmas

I love books! Books are cool 🙂

It’s probably no surprise that I love books, I love reading, I love the escapism, gritty reality, shock value, fantasy and sheer awesomeness of being so totally lost in a story I lose track of time.  I resent my day job because it eats into valuable reading time.

I decided at the beginning of January to use Pinterest.com to document what I’ve been reading, adding short reviews and recommendations.  In March of 2012 I joined Goodreads.com and discovered their 2012 Reading Challenge.  The point was to challenge yourself to read a certain number of books during the year. I also decided that the books for this challenge would be from my local library, which got slightly off point from August 2012 when I got a Kindle and got a bit trigger happy with the one-click button! While it’s great to download 99p books to read, I miss going to the Library to browse.  So this will be my 2013 challenge, to read 100 Library Books.
The other challenge will be to keep Goodreads and Pinterest updated because they too have suffered!
List one is a top 10 of the most memorable books I read. They are in alphabetical order and not preference.
A Discovery of Witches – Deborah Harkness
A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
Everything and Nothing – Araminta Hall
Of Bees and Mist – Erick Sattawan
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls) – Maggie Stiefvater
Snake Ropes – Jess Richards
The Dinosaur Feather – Sissel-Jo Gazan
The Grimm Legacy – Polly Shulman
The Snow Child – Eowyn Ivey
Twelve Minutes of Love – Kapka Kassabora
What made these memorable in my opinion, is that the stories, characters, style of writing all impacted on me.  I felt strong emotional ties to the characters, so much so in some cases I cried for their heartache, I laughed with joy, and I empathised.  I’ve also been asked why did I choose them? I’m drawn to books first and foremost by the cover, the feel of the book, the size of it in my hand.  Then I go to the blurb, does it have enough of a hook to draw me in, does it sound interesting, different, quirky, funny.  Will it keep me interested? Is it an author I already know and have read? A lot of the 100 books are series I’ve discovered.  My last selection choice is size of font.  If the font size is tiny or I struggle to read it comfortably, it goes back on the shelf.  Of course the selection methods change slightly with choosing which books to download to my kindle.  I rely heavily on reading the blurb, and the cover! All in all, I’ve enjoyed most of the books I’ve read but along the way there have been a few surprising disappointments which are shown in list two, which again are in alphabetical order.
Charlotte Street – Danny Wallace
Flowers in the Attic – Virginia Andrews
Maximum Ride – James Patterson
Me and Mr Booker – Cory Taylor
Pink Hotel – Anna Stothard
The Ground is Burning – Samuel Black
Trash – Andy Mulligan
When She Woke – Hillary Jordan
Some of these were surprising! I expected to enjoy them but they just didn’t live up to expectations.  Obviously this is my opinion and you need to check them out yourself …. but possibly with the exception of …… no, I’ll let you make up your own minds 😉
But for the record, of my top 10, three books were worthy of a highly recommended and you must read these.  They were
Of Bees and Mist by Erick Sattawan
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey.
Happy reading and bring on 2013!
4 thoughts on “2012: The Year of the Book … Day 7 #blog12daysxmas

  1. This year, I set myself a new goal 26 books, one more than last year and, more importantly, an even number. My secondary goal is to end the year not only at this number, but with 13 novels by female authors, and 13 novels by male authors, an equal split of gender. Why? Because last year I only read 8 novels by women, about 33% of my total output. Also, because I think it’s good to challenge oneself.

  2. elizabethutch

    You worked hard today! Good list! A Monster Calls is in my top 3 this year but I have to say I did enjoy Trash. I read the Carngie short list every year and it makes me read things that I would not normally not pick up. Glad to hear how and why you select a book, I have not yet succumbed to a kindle and I too enjoy the feel and hold a book. Sounds like I need to join Goodreads.com too. Do you always finish a book? Thanks for posting your thoughts! Happy New Year!

    1. sarahgb

      Trash was ok, but just didn’t connect with it at all. In reading the books I’ve also found some I wouldn’t normally pick up but it’s been fun to discover new authors this way. As far as possible I try to finish a book but if it really isn’t happening I ditch it. Happy New Year to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

