Looking ….

and seeing!  Taking a break from my studies, I made myself a cup of tea and sat at the kitchen table looking out of the window.  The view from my back window is glorious.  It truly is.  Many people who follow my twitter account will recognise the famous tree that features in many of my photos.  It does indeed feature into today’s too.  In full leaf it looks fabulous, can’t wait to see it in all it’s glory again.

I digress!

Back to looking out the window.

Lots of birds visit the garden and in the time I took to drink my tea I spotted Sparrows, Long-Tailed Tits, Blue Tits, Coal Tits, Great Tits, Robin, Blackbirds and Goldfinches.  Most of them feed on the feeders but the Sparrows tend to forage on the ground in amongst the shrubs and on the bushes too.  Quite often, if I look hard enough, I’ll spot the Wren dashing in amongst the pots of the patio and around the bushes.  Today I also caught a glimpse of the Vole, dashing for cover after taking a few dropped sunflower hearts from the feeding area.  He takes cover under an ornate clay roof tile salvaged from my Mum’s old conservatory.  Waits a few moments until the coast is clear and then dashes for home.  Safe for another day, or until Emmy catches him and brings him into the house to play ….. but that was another blog post!

No squirrels today, but the sheep did catch me looking out of the window and came rushing down to the wall to stare at me in the vain hope that while I was looking, I would see that they were starving and needed a stash of peanuts to make them feel better.  I did indeed see but chose to ignore … on this occasion.  There’s plenty of grass and hay!

Leave a Reply

