Reading Habits…… a meme

what fun…. a little quiz *claps hands in glee* now where to begin…oh, at the beginning

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

Depends where I am, if I’m reading in bed then no… if reading elsewhere and there is a box of chocolates or pringles around, then yes!

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of writing in books horrify you?

errr why would I want to mark my books ?

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears? Laying the book flat open?

I have loads of bookmarks collected from various libraries, bookshops etc and never use any! I have a pad of coloured post-its by the bed and usually use one of those, folded over in half (so no sticky side exposed) and use that.  They are all over the house as I can’t bear to throw them away.

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Fiction.

Hard copy or audiobooks?

Both.  Hardcopy at home but if I’m on the move I’ll listen to audiobooks, and at lunchtime at work.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

Have to read to the end of the chapter, in fact it becomes an obsession to get t the end before passing out.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

unfamiliar word….. in a book…. all words are familiar to me, they are my friends

What are you currently reading?

currently re-reading my entire collection of Anne McCaffrey books, at the moment it is Dragonflight, plus Death of a Red Heroine (Qiu Xiaolong), The Venetian Betrayal (Steve Berry), The Host (Stephanie Meyer)

What is the last book you bought?

The last book I bought was for work, the new Dan Brown – The Lost Symbol.  It was a bargain £5 from Asda Living.

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?

Always have several on the go and always fiction.

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

Favourite time is bedtime or all weekend.  Love reading in bed and if on marathon weekend reading session, on the squishy sofa usually accompanied by two cats.

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

Don’t mind, although if I come across a rather good series I have to read it in order starting at the beginning.  Came to Harry Potter on book 3 and had to put it aside until I’d read the first two!

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

Anne McCaffrey, Jeff Noon, Carl Hiaasan and Kathy Reichs are my all time favourite rereads.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

Some bookcases are organised into science fiction and fantasy, sport, travel and murder mystery.  The rest are organised into wherever they fit or in a huge pile by the side of my bed.

But then don’t get me started on the 20+ boxes of books in the loft that I can’t fit into bookcases in the rest of the house!

Wooooo that was fun 🙂

One thought on “Reading Habits…… a meme

Leave a Reply

